CRMPI: A Permaculture Experience

Honey, I’m home!

My sincere apologies for being gone for so long, it’s just that my seasonal job finally ended last week and since then I’ve been doing, well…not much.  You would think that since I’m not too busy these days I have a ton of time cook up a storm in the kitchen, right?  That’s the logical way of thinking, and what I also thought would happen.  It’s strange, though…I have this weird issue where the more I have to do, the more motivated I am to actually get stuff done.  Likewise, the less I have to do, the less likely I am to be productive with my time.  Hence the neglect of my blog.  It will not happen again, promise.

See, when you no longer have a steady income and simultaneously have to save your money for a road trip/big move in a month, there’s only so many free or cheap activities you can do during the off-season to pass the time.  Yes, the mountains are still technically open but if you saw how little snow there is (or should I say slush) you wouldn’t waste your time either.  Thus, my days recently have been filled with long walks with the pups, cooking a little bit here and there but nothing so exciting that it deserves a blog post, reading a fair amount, and accompanying Tim on his rides up the mountain in the snowcat.  I’ve been sleeping in, which is a nice change of pace from the previous five months (how do all you year-round 9-5ers do it?).  Mostly though, it’s a practice in perfecting the art of relaxing.

Yesterday, however, I got the opportunity to do something a little out of the ordinary: accompany Nozomi to her weekly volunteering gig at CRMPI (Central Rocky Mountain Permaculture Institute) to help out and finally learn what this place she speaks so highly of is all about.

CRMPI is a permaculture institute, which is basically fancy way of saying an organic farm that  attempts to maintain a sustainable ecosystem similar to what one might find in nature.  Jerome, the guy who runs the show, has developed  a waste-free, completely organic system in which the animals (including humans) are eating a diet consisting mainly of the greens and fruits that grow in his garden, the waste of which is turned into fertilizer bringing nutrients for the plants to grow.

As simple as this cycle may sound, it takes a strong effort on the part of Jerome, a man of few words despite his vast knowledge in the permaculture field, as well as the volunteers whose time and effort is vital to the success of the institute.

I want to share my photos of this truly inspirational place with you all, just so you may get an idea of what flourishing sustainable agricultural land use looks like.

Nozo and I (above and below) with newborn goats, the newest little additions to the CRMPI family. Just under a few weeks old, these little buggers were probably the cutest animals I have ever seen.

Sarah feeding the baby goats.

Chicken coop.

CRMPI's primary greenhouse and plant nursery. So many different varieties of plants, mostly all edible.

Baby basil. We spent a good amount of the day transplanting these little guys into larger pots so they could have more room to grow.

Beautiful rainbow chard!

Chiles!

Bananas!

Kale of many varieties!

Baby eggplant!

Papayas!

Solar powered dehydrator. Drying carrot slices and various herbs and spices. Such a rad idea

Filming Jerome for the CRMPI website's permaculture tutorials

Nozo's got skillz

There's something about the look and feel of this kitchen I really enjoyed.

For lunch, Stephanie made a delicious salad to go along with some quinoa pasta. Mmm mmm good.

From left: volunteers Sarah, Rosie and Nozomi. We tried to sit outside but the wind made it near impossible. Beautiful day, beautiful view, beautiful ladies.

At the end of the day he sent us home with tons of greens, peppers and a few eggs straight from the chicken coop.  Both last night and tonight I made simple salads using CRMPI’s greens, and this morning I cooked a couple of the farm eggs.  I do believe that my next recipe will include some ingredients from the Institute.  Stay tuned!

2 responses

  1. Thank you for coming home to the blog, Emma, missed your wonderful posts.
    You have the gift for the reader to feel that they too are actually there eating that great lunch with you. all the best, Cheryl Maeder

  2. Pingback: Ingredient of the Week: Fresh Turmeric | nosuchrecipe

Leave a Reply

