Simple Strawberry Agua Fresca

I seem to have developed this habit of buying (or picking!) lots of berries and then having no idea what to do with them.  The other day I did this again with hood strawberries.  I keep hearing about how the season is so short and you can only get them for a very small period of time, so I end up buying a box or six.  I’ve done this every few days for the past month or so, and only just now am I noticing that they’re disappearing.  Sad.  So to honor this last batch, I decided to make something I’ve been wanting to make for some time now, and I’m not sure why I haven’t because it’s just a breeze to do!

I made a batch of strawberry agua fresca, and it’s so simple that it almost doesn’t deserve an entire blog post.  But then again, it’s so delicious and refreshing that it, undoubtedly, DOES deserve it!  When I think of agua fresca, I am immediately brought back to my roots, to my childhood filled with mud, dirt, grass, cuts, and mexican food.  I think of my family’s weekly ritual of dining at Cactus Taqueria every wednesday for the past fifteen or so years now.  Even though I’m long gone living in Portland and can no longer make the weekly gatherings that still occur today, I can still recall my family’s exact orders.  My dad: a chile relleno with extra guacamole and a horchata, sometimes.  My mom: half chicken, half shrimp burrito mejor with no cheese or sour cream, in a whole wheat tortilla.  My sister and I both: chicken mejor burritos, salsa on the side and refried beans.  And never without an agua fresca to accompany it.

Strawberry Agua Fresca

Ingredients

  • 2 cups water
  • 3/4 cup of sugar
  • 1 basket of fresh strawberries, stems removed
  • Juice of 2 limes

Dissolve sugar in water over medium heat.  Meanwhile, puree the strawberries in a blender.  If you don’t like the seeds or pulp you can strain the puree in a fine mesh strainer.  I actually prefer my agua fresca to have a pulpy consistency so I just left it as is.  Once sugar has dissolved, remove from heat and allow to cool for 10 minutes or so.  Pour into a container, add pureed strawberries and lime juice.  Stir, then fill remainder of container with cold water and ice.  Serve with a slice of lime garnish.

3 responses

    • Karyn-I haven’t tried that but it’s a rad idea and I will look into it. My roommate actually makes sun tea usig stevia as a sweetener so I don’t see why not! I’ve also looked into alternative sweeteners to refined sugar like natural honey etc. and will be using these in future recipes. thanks for the comment and for checking out my blog!

Leave a Reply

