Pre-Thanksgiving Cleanse Update 2

Just a quick update.  It’s now day 7 and I’m still going strong on my no dairy, gluten or super sugary foods cleanse.  

These past two days have been a bit of a downer for sure.  I have had some moments of clarity and contentment, but in general I’ve been feeling more, I don’t know, blah, than I was for the first three days.  Physically, I feel healthier overall which is manifesting in a more positive self-image.  My energy has been up and down, but I have been kicking ass in bouldering and I’m wondering if that has something to do with heightened energy levels or maybe a lack of sluggishness typically resulting from the overconsumption of gluten and/or dairy.  

This is what I’ve been eating, mostly.

Day 4

  • Green juice (apple, kale, beet, pomegranate, cucumber)
  • Amaranth mixed with chick peas and a fried egg
  • Almond butter/honey
  • Ginger kombucha
  • Mixed greens salad with balsamic vinaigrette 
  • Truffle fries
  • A glass of red wine

Day 5

  • Green juice
  • Coconut water
  • Soy chai
  • Kale salad with preserved lemon, black beans and flax seeds
  • Kim chee
  • Vegan taco with corn tortilla, rice, black beans, lettuce, pico de gallo, guacamole.  
  • Chips and salsa.  

Day 6

  • Green Juice
  • 2 tacos with fried eggs, chia, flax seeds, pico de gallo, black beans, guacamole
  • Soy chai 
  • Grilled romaine salad with cherry tomatoes, fresh herbs and marinated onions
  • Chips and hummus

Day 7 (so far)

  • Green juice
  • kale salad with flax seeds and black beans
  • almond butter/honey

My two overarching observations so far are as follows.  One: I, surprisingly, CAN live without these foods!  And the second: I don’t wait to live without them!  Cheese, bread, milk, these are all foods that are just too good to give up entirely!  To do so would be depriving myself of some of life’s most tasty pleasures, and it is not something I want to give up of post-cleanse.   

Three and a half more days to go.

Leave a Reply

